For more information about how COVID-19 is affecting the City of Sunrise and helpful actions taken by our City Commission, please see our Coronavirus Update.
 Sunrise City Commission
Pictured left to right:
Commissioner Douglas,
Commissioner Sofield,
Mayor Ryan,
Deputy Mayor Scuotto, and
Assistant Deputy Mayor Kerch


The City of Sunrise operates under a Commission/Manager form of government, led by a Mayor and four City Commissioners who are elected to four-year terms on a non-partisan basis. In November of each year, one Commissioner is named Deputy Mayor, while another is named Assistant Deputy Mayor.

It is the Commission's responsibility to set policy, establish laws and adopt the City's budget. The Commission-appointed City Manager oversees the day-to-day operations of Sunrise.

The Mayor and Commission strive to represent the best interests of Sunrise, and continually seek ways to better meet the expectations of the citizens they serve.

The City of Sunrise is represented by:
Mayor Michael J. Ryan
Deputy Mayor Joseph A. Scuotto
Assistant Deputy Mayor Neil C. Kerch
Commissioner Mark A. Douglas
Commissioner Lawrence A. Sofield

Contact Information:
City Commission Office
10770 West Oakland Park Boulevard
Sunrise, FL 33351
Phone: (954) 746-3250
Fax: (954) 746-3243
(Individual email addresses can be found on the Commission Directory page.)

Business Hours: Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.